Names of the countries that have recognised the State of Palestine | UPSC

Israel’s war in Gaza since the October 7 attack has revived a global push for Palestinians to be given a state of their own.

Armenia on June 21 announced its recognition of the State of Palestine, the latest country to do so during the war in Gaza.

Eatlier in May 2024, Norway, Spain and Ireland had recognised a state of Palestine, breaking with the long-held view of Western powers that Palestinians can only gain statehood as part of a negotiated peace with Israel.

Their move, which has infuriated Israel, brings to 146 out of the 193 UN member states that have recognised a Palestinian state.

They include many Middle Eastern, African and Asian countries, but not the United States, Canada, most of western Europe, Australia, Japan or South Korea.