Kizhoor village yet to get its prominence

It was after the historic referendum held at Kizhoor on October 18, 1954, that the French decided to handover the reigns of four territories—Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam, and Mahe—to India.

Puducherry, Karaikal, Yanam, and Mahe—to India. Subsequent to the vote, on November 1, the territories of French India were transferred to India de facto.

the Indian government on August 16, 1962, after the French government ratified the Treaty of Cession by its Parliament.

The place comes alive only twice a year, on November 1 and August 16. Otherwise, the place is forgotten, and even the museum is out of bounds for the public most days as it is open only two days a year.