Group of Four (G4) | UPSC

G4 nations comprise Brazil, Germany, India, and Japan are four countries which support each other’s bids for permanent seats on the United Nations Security Council.

The United Nations Security Council is composed of 15 Members, five permanent members - China, France, Russian Federation, the United Kingdom, and the United States, and ten non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.

India was a member of UNSC non-permanent seat for 2021 and 2022 from the Asia Pacific Group. It has previously on seven occasions since 1950-51, and now serving its eighth term.

India has served as a non-permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) more often than any country other than Japan from the Asia-Pacific Group.

India claims a seat at the UNSC because of multiple factors such as: population, growing economic stature and increasing global responsibilities and contribution to UN peacekeeping operations.