Suryakumar Yadav Named India Captain For T20I Series Against Australia

Suryakumar Yadav is set to lead the Indian cricket team in the upcoming five-match T20I series against Australia, starting on November 23, 2023, in Visakhapatnam. The squad showcases a rejuvenated lineup as several key players from the Cricket World Cup have been granted rest. Ruturaj Gaikwad assumes the role of vice-captain for the series against the newly-crowned ODI champions. Notably, only three players from the ODI Cricket World Cup 2023 squad—Prasidh Krishna, Ishan Kishan, and Suryakumar himself—have been included. Shreyas Iyer will join the team for the final two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru, taking over the vice-captaincy from Gaikwad.

Thiruvananthapuram is set to host the second T20I, while Guwahati will be the venue for the third T20I. Unfortunately, Hardik Pandya, the star all-rounder who led the Men in Blue in T20Is in various series this year, will be absent due to an ankle injury sustained during the Cricket World Cup league stage match against Bangladesh. Sanju Samson is also not part of the squad.

The selected players, including promising talents such as Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, and Rinku Singh, will be closely monitored as India embarks on a phase of providing opportunities to emerging talents, keeping an eye on the 2024 T20 World Cup.

In the bowling department, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar, and Ravi Bishnoi bring T20 experience, all having represented India. Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, and Shivam Dubey are designated as all-rounders, while Jitesh Sharma serves as the backup wicketkeeper.

These selected players have showcased exceptional performances in the Indian Premier League. With the BCCI selectors leaning towards providing more opportunities to younger players in the T20I format, there is a concerted effort to solidify their positions with an eye on the upcoming T20 World Cup. The complete squad comprises Suryakumar Yadav (Captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad (Vice-Captain), Ishan Kishan, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Washington Sundar, Axar Patel, Shivam Dubey, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar. Shreyas Iyer will join as the vice-captain for the last two T20Is in Raipur and Bengaluru.

Scroll to Top