Shabab Al-Ahli set up Al-Nassr clash in Asian Champions League playoffs

Shabab Al Ahli, hailing from the United Arab Emirates, will lock horns with Saudi Pro League contender Al-Nassr in a bid to secure a place in the group phase of the Asian Champions League. This faceoff is scheduled for the upcoming week, subsequent to Shabab Al Ahli\’s resounding 3-0 victory over Al-Wehdat in a playoff held on Tuesday.

Cristiano Ronaldo and his Al-Nassr teammates will act as hosts when they welcome Shabab Al Ahli to Riyadh next Tuesday. This clash was set in motion by a trio of second-half goals from Azizjon Ganiev, Renan, and Munas Dabbur, which propelled Shabab Al Ahli to triumph over the Jordanian team.

Meanwhile, Sharjah advanced in the competition with Luanzinho\’s brace, securing a 2-0 win against India\’s Bashundhara Kings. The Emirati team is now poised to confront Iran\’s Tractor club in the ensuing round.

Uzbekistan\’s AGMK held on steadfastly, clinching a 1-0 victory against Oman\’s Al-Seeb despite Martin Boakye\’s 73rd-minute ejection. Khurshid Giyosov etched the sole goal of the game two minutes into the second half, propelling AGMK into a faceoff with Qatar\’s Al-Arabi.

In the eastern bracket of the draw, Vietnam\’s Haiphong managed to equalize in the 88th minute against Hong Kong Rangers, leading the game into extra time. Eventually, Haiphong emerged victorious with a 4-1 win.

The Hong Kong Premier League\’s Yumemi Kanda initiated the scoring four minutes before halftime, countered by Nguyen Tuan Anh\’s equalizer in the dying minutes, capitalizing on a rebound following Yuri Mamute\’s saved penalty.

Mamute struck twice during the extended period, and Martin Lo also found the mark, steering Haiphong forward. Haiphong is set to face South Korea\’s Incheon United in the coming week, while defending champions Urawa Red Diamonds await the outcome of Wednesday\’s match between Lee Man and Bali United in Hong Kong.

The draw for the Asian Champions League\’s group phase is slated for August 24 in Kuala Lumpur, with matches commencing on September 18.

Scroll to Top