India’s first regional rapid train to be named ‘Namo Bharat’, to be inaugurated by PM on Friday

Official sources have disclosed that the Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS) trains, to be inaugurated by Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Friday, will be named \’Namo Bharat.\’ The 17-kilometer inaugural segment of the Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut RRTS Corridor is set to open to passengers on October 21, just one day after its inauguration.

This section, which runs from Sahibabad to Duhai Depot, includes five stations: Sahibabad, Ghaziabad, Guldhar, Duhai, and Duhai Depot. In accordance with the Prime Minister\’s vision to enhance regional connectivity through the development of state-of-the-art transportation infrastructure, the RRTS project is currently under construction, as detailed in a statement from the Prime Minister\’s Office (PMO) released on Wednesday.

The RRTS represents an innovative rail-based transit system that operates at semi-high speeds with a design speed of up to 180 kilometers per hour. It serves as a groundbreaking regional development initiative, designed to provide high-speed intercity commuting at 15-minute intervals, with the ability to increase frequency to as often as every five minutes in response to demand, as outlined by the PMO.

Scroll to Top