Daily News Analysis 19 May 2023

Table of Contents



  • Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity (IPEF)

Facts for Prelims

  • Kishtwar High Altitude National Park
  • National Medical Commission (NMC)
  • Eretmoptera murphyi

Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity (IPEF)


India chose to join the Indo-Pacific Economic Framework for Prosperity (IPEF) but declined the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP).


  • IPEF is an economic grouping led by the United States.
  • It represents 40 percent of the global GDP and aims to promote resilience, economic growth, competitiveness, and fairness among its member countries.

Counter China\’s Influence:

  • Some analysts view the IPEF as a response to China\’s increasing influence in the region.
  • It aims to fill the void created by not being a part of the Regional Comprehensive Economic Partnership (RCEP) and counter China\’s influence.

Partner Countries:

  • The IPEF includes the following countries: Australia, Brunei, India, Indonesia, Japan, the Republic of Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Vietnam, and the United States.
  • Fiji has also joined the initiative.

Pillars of IPEF:

  • The IPEF is built on four pillars: trade, supply chains, clean economy, and fair economy.
  • India has joined the other three pillars but not trade.

Significance of IPEF for India:

  • Strategic Importance: The IPEF is strategically important for India as it enhances economic engagement in the region.
  • Supply Chain Building: Building resilient supply chains is a key goal of the IPEF. India can explore alternative sources for raw materials, reducing dependence on China.

Challenges: India needs to ensure that its strategic partnership with the US doesn\’t lead to complete economic dependency. Concerns exist about the impact on India\’s manufacturing sector, limited policy space, and implications in agriculture.

Way Forward:

  • India can benefit from the supply chain initiative of the IPEF but should maintain flexibility in other areas.

Developing a strategic partnership with the US is a top priority for India, while its relationship with China has deteriorated.


Kishtwar High Altitude National Park


Recently, the research team of the Department of Wildlife Protection has confirmed the presence of snow leopard in Kishtwar High Altitude National Park through camera trap photographs.

About Kishtwar High Altitude National Park:


  • Located in the Kishtwar district of Jammu and Kashmir, India.


  • Declared as Kishtwar High Altitude National Park in 1980.


  • Established primarily to protect the Snow Leopards, which are disappearing from the natural habitat.

Physical Features:

  • Situated in the central crystalline belt of the Himalayas.
  • Found in high altitudes, specifically in the sub-alpine and alpine zones.
  • Encompasses the catchment area of Kiber, Nanth, and Kiyar Nallas.
  • These nallas drain into the Marwah River, which eventually joins the Chenab River.
  • The terrain is rugged and steep, with narrow valleys and high ridges.
  • Upper glacial parts offer stunning alpine meadows, snow-capped peaks, and lush green forests.
  • Serves as an important ecological corridor for various wildlife species.


  • Abundance of different types of conifer forests.
  • Includes Fir, Himalayan Yew, Deodar, Blue Pine (Kail), and Spruce.
  • Alpine regions feature extensive alpine scrub and meadows.


  • Recognized as a significant snow leopard reserve.
  • Provides habitat for various other animals, including:
  • Brown bear
  • Himalayan musk deer
  • Hangul (Kashmir stag)
  • Ibex
  • Wild boar
  • Indian muntjac (barking deer)
  • Serow Capricornis (goat-antelope)
  • Himalayan Tahr (wild goat)
  • Bharal (blue sheep)


National Medical Commission (NMC)



Doctors will now have to get a Unique Identification Number (UID) to be able to practice medicine in the country, as per the new regulations by the National Medical Commission (NMC).

About the National Medical Commission (NMC):

  • NMC was created through an act of Parliament called the National Medical Commission Act, 2019.
  • It has replaced the Medical Council of India (MCI), which was formed under the Indian Medical Council Act, 1956.


  • NMC is responsible for regulating medical education and medical professionals in India.
  • The Commission performs the following tasks:
  • Grants recognition of medical qualifications.
  • Accredits medical schools.
  • Grants registration to medical practitioners.
  • Monitors medical practice.
  • Assesses the medical infrastructure in the country.


  • NMC is headquartered in New Delhi, the capital city of India.

Organizational Structure:

NMC consists of 33 members, including:

  • Chairman (who must be a medical professional).
  • 10 ex-officio members.
  • 22 part-time members.

Medical Advisory Council:

  • This council provides a platform for states and union territories (UTs) to present their views and concerns to the NMC.
  • It advises the NMC on measures to establish and maintain minimum standards of medical education.

Autonomous Boards:

  • NMC comprises four autonomous boards:
  • Under-Graduate Medical Education Board: Sets norms for undergraduate (UG) medical courses.
  • Post-Graduate Medical Education Board: Sets norms for post-graduate medical courses.
  • Medical Assessment and Rating Board: Inspects and rates medical education institutes.
  • Ethics and Medical Registration Board: Regulates the professional conduct of doctors and maintains their registration.


Scroll to Top