‘Watershed moment in history’: PM Modi on 3 criminal law bills passed in Rajya Sabha

Prime Minister Narendra Modi marked the approval of three criminal law bills — Bharatiya Nyaya (Second) Sanhita, Bharatiya Nagrik Suraksha (Second) Sanhita, and Bharatiya Saksha (Second) Bill — in the Rajya Sabha as a \”milestone in our history.\”

Using X (formerly Twitter), Modi conveyed, “The passage of Bharatiya Nagarik Suraksha Sanhita, 2023, Bharatiya Nyaya Sanhita, 2023, and Bharatiya Sakshya Adhiniyam, 2023 is a turning point in our history. These Bills signify the conclusion of colonial-era laws, ushering in a new era focused on public service and welfare.”

The Bharatiya Nyaya (Second) Sanhita is slated to replace the Indian Penal Code, the Bharatiya Nagrik Suraksha (Second) Sanhita will supersede the Code of Criminal Procedure, and the Bharatiya Saksha (Second) Bill will take the place of the Evidence Act, 1872.

Modi lauded these bills as transformative, emphasizing that they highlight India\’s dedication to reform. He stated, “They modernize our legal, policing, and investigative systems with an emphasis on technology and forensic science. These Bills guarantee enhanced protection for the poor, marginalized, and vulnerable segments of our society.”

Stressing the bills\’ impact on organized crime, including terrorism, Modi asserted that they tackle offenses impeding the country\’s \”peaceful journey\” to progress. He declared that these bills bid farewell to outdated sections in the Constitution, especially those related to sedition.

He commented, “In our Amrit Kaal, these legal reforms redefine our legal framework to be more relevant and empathy-driven.”

The Indian Penal Code (IPC), introduced by the British in 1860 and later adopted by the Indian government post-Independence, has undergone approximately 77 amendments. However, calls for a comprehensive overhaul of the criminal justice system have persisted, citing its outdated nature and colonial legacy.

The three bills secured approval in the Lok Sabha through a voice vote on Wednesday.

Scroll to Top