Telangana: Sonia, Rahul and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra to attend Revanth Reddy’s swearing-in ceremony

As per reports from India Today, Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, and Priyanka Gandhi Vadra are expected to participate in the swearing-in ceremony of Revanth Reddy on Thursday.

Revanth Reddy, aged 56, is set to be inaugurated as the Chief Minister of Telangana at LB Stadium in Hyderabad at 1:04 pm on Thursday, according to PTI.

Earlier this week, Congress General Secretary KC Venugopal had officially announced Revanth Reddy as the new Congress Legislature Party chief in Telangana.

The Chief Minister-elect, Revanth Reddy, who was present in the national capital, engaged in discussions with AICC president Mallikarjun Kharge and General Secretary KC Venugopal regarding the specifics of the swearing-in ceremony and cabinet appointments. Furthermore, he met with former party president Sonia Gandhi at her residence, with Priyanka Gandhi Vadra also in attendance.

In a social media post on X, Rahul Gandhi, representing Wayanad, extended his congratulations to Telangana\’s Chief Minister-designate, Revanth Reddy. Rahul expressed confidence that under Reddy\’s leadership, the Congress government would fulfill all its commitments to the people of Telangana.

The swearing-in event is anticipated to have the presence of Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah, Deputy Chief Minister D.K. Shivakumar, and CPI General Secretary D Raja. As per information from CPI MLA-elect Kunamneni Sambasiva Rao, D Raja is expected to participate in the function at the invitation of Revanth Reddy.

In the recently concluded Assembly elections, the Congress secured victory in 64 out of the 119-member state Assembly, establishing its right to form the government. The Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), led by K Chandrashekhar Rao, won 39 seats, with the BJP securing eight seats and AIMIM seven. Additionally, CPI won one seat. KCR conceded defeat on December 3 before the official results were declared, submitting his resignation, which was accepted by the governor. The AIMIM, led by Asaduddin Owaisi, retained its seven seats from the outgoing Telangana Assembly, with their candidates winning seven out of the nine seats they contested in the state assembly election.

Scroll to Top