Telangana Assembly election results 2023: Who will be the next CM?

The Congress party is making notable progress toward victory in the Telangana state Assembly elections, leading in more than 60 of the 119 seats. This places them in a favorable position compared to the ruling Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), which is leading in 40 seats, while the BJP is ahead in 4 seats.

A noteworthy development is the trailing position of Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao in Kamaredy, one of the constituencies he contested. In this constituency, the state Congress president, Revanth Reddy, is leading by over 3,000 votes, while Chief Minister Rao is leading in Gajwel.

The vote counting, which commenced at 8 am, initiated with postal ballots and subsequently moved on to Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs). The state currently boasts a 60 percent majority.

The potential triumph for the Congress raises the question of who will become the next chief minister. According to exit polls, TPCC president Revanth Reddy, a prominent figure in the campaign, has stated that the high command will decide the chief minister, with the possibility of his own candidacy.

Deputy Chief Minister of Karnataka, DK Shivakumar, praised the voters of Telangana for expressing confidence in the Congress party. He noted that the people of Telangana have chosen change, emphasizing progress and development. Shivakumar asserted that the party\’s decision on the chief ministerial candidate would be based on collective leadership.

Revanth Reddy, representing Malkajgiri Constituency in the Lok Sabha, has played a crucial role in the campaign. The party\’s decision on the chief ministerial candidate is anticipated to be influenced by his role as the PCC president and team leader.

As celebrations erupted outside the Congress office in Hyderabad, signifying the party\’s robust performance, the results carry significance for the Congress as it prepares for the 2024 Lok Sabha elections. Emerging victorious in Karnataka and Telangana would further strengthen its presence in the southern region.

In the 2018 elections, BRS secured 88 out of 119 seats with 47.4% of the vote, while the Congress lagged behind with 19 seats. The current trends indicate a substantial shift in favor of the Congress party in Telangana.

Scroll to Top