Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh new CMs to take oath today, PM Modi will be present

The inauguration ceremony for the recently appointed chief ministers of Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh, namely Mohan Yadav and Vishnu Deo Sai, is slated for Wednesday, with the presence of Prime Minister Modi and other senior BJP leaders. The revelation of these unconventional selections for chief ministers has concluded the suspense surrounding their appointment, giving rise to conjectures about the constitution of their respective cabinets. The resolution of these speculations is anticipated during today\’s inaugural events in the two states. Additionally, Bhajan Lal Sharma, the Chief Minister of Rajasthan, is scheduled to take the oath on December 15.

Mohan Yadav, Madhya Pradesh\’s new Chief Minister, is a 58-year-old three-time MLA and a notable OBC leader. His unexpected appointment as chief minister, coupled with his close ties to RSS, has taken many by surprise. Possessing an LLB, MBA, and PhD, Yadav was first elected as an MLA from Ujjain South in 2013 and retained the constituency in 2018 and 2023. He previously served as the higher education minister in Shivraj Singh Chouhan\’s cabinet. Jagdish Devda and Rajendra Shukla will be Mohan Yadav\’s two deputies, with Narendra Singh Tomar assuming the role of Madhya Pradesh Assembly Speaker.

Shivraj Singh Chouhan, the leader who steered the BJP to a significant victory in Madhya Pradesh, expressed confidence in the state\’s progress under the new leadership. Chouhan underscored his commitment by stating that he would not seek personal favors and declared, \”I would rather die than go and ask something for myself. I won\’t go to Delhi.\”

Vishnu Deo Sai, the newly appointed Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, is a 59-year-old set to become the state\’s first tribal chief minister. A former Union minister and MP, Sai\’s unexpected selection by the BJP, despite his extensive experience in electoral politics and grassroots work, marked a departure from the anticipated names. Vijay Sharma and Arun Sao will serve as Sai\’s deputies, while former chief minister Raman Singh will assume the role of Speaker.

The BJP took a week to finalize the names of the chief ministers and deputy chief ministers, introducing a new set of leaders and deviating from the expected choices that had been circulating. Stay informed with the latest developments on HT Channel on Facebook for more details. Join Now.

Scroll to Top