Chhattisgarh Assembly elections results 2023

Based on the latest data accessible on the Election Commission of India (ECI) website, the BJP has triumphed in 54 assembly constituencies out of a total of 90, whereas the Congress has clinched 35 assembly seats.

The ECI data reveals that the Gondwana Gantantra Party (GGP) secured one seat.

The BJP\’s success in the two tribal-dominated divisions of Surguja and Bastar, which account for 26 assembly seats, played a crucial role in their overall victory.

It is noteworthy that the BJP has accomplished a complete victory in the Surguja division, securing all 14 seats in the 2023 polls. In the Bastar division, the Congress has only managed to secure four seats, while the BJP emerged victorious in eight seats.

Despite the majority of exit polls anticipating a closely contested battle between the Congress and the BJP in Chhattisgarh, the BJP\’s triumph signifies its most substantial win in the state\’s assembly elections since its formation in 2000, following the bifurcation from Madhya Pradesh.

The Congress encountered setbacks in the Chhattisgarh assembly elections, with the saffron party focusing its campaign on allegations of corruption and a job scam against Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel. Baghel, who won from the Patan constituency, garnered 95,438 votes, while his distant nephew and BJP candidate Vijay Baghel secured 75,715 votes, according to ECI data.

Following the announcement of the assembly election results, Baghel resigned as the Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh on Sunday night, expressing respect for the people\’s mandate. He mentioned that the Congress would play a positive role in the opposition.

Significantly, Congress senior leader and Chhattisgarh\’s outgoing Deputy Chief Minister TS Singh Deo lost the election to BJP\’s Rajesh Agrawal by a margin of 8,367 votes.

As per the Election Commission data, the BJP secured 46.34% of the votes, while Congress garnered a vote share of 42.12%. The assembly polls in Chhattisgarh were conducted in two phases on November 7 and 17. In the 2018 assembly elections, the BJP faced a significant defeat, securing only 15 seats with 32.97% of the votes.

Scroll to Top